top of page
Taicho Cyclist V2 Logo Banner.png
  • Writer's pictureTaicho Cyclist

The Deal is done for Eddy Merckx 525 - 2021 version

A retrospective post about putting the money down on a new frameset to conclude the year's spending on big ticket cycling item.

Yes, its another Eddy Merckx bike again. For those of you in the cycling community who knew me long enough, there is only one brand that I will only buy and that is Baron Eddy Merckx's bicycles. It may not be the flashy, lightweight, aerodynamic design but its just what I liked about their bicycles. The blend of balance, control and all day riding comfort has served me well since 1997 with my very first Corsa Extra. I had visited my local Eddy Merckx Bikes dealer, Entro Cycles Singapore to order a MyMerckx custom frame set (frame & fork) in personalised colours and scheme.

Hopefully with this purchase I wanted to get hold of the new Shimano Ultegra 12 speed groupset but was told it will not be available by the estimated delivery time at the end of 2021. Found a YouTube video by Eddy Merckx Bikes about the 525 and happen to chance upon a similar colour scheme which should be close to what I have ordered.




The only difference is the MyMerckx version is white on blue instead of the featured silver on blue in the video. Still its close enough to be representative of what I desired for.

Nevertheless I am still excited by the prospect of getting something new to start 2022 in a positive note for cycling and health. The next question is what groupset should I use to drive the bicycle until Utlegra 12 speed is available? Well that is a debate for viewers to suggest in the meanwhile.


Peace out.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Updated TIME Alpe d'Huez 2023 in 2024

After a series of component changes since the original build by OneBikeAsia back in February 2024, here is an update video in a beautiful Singapore🇸🇬 morning. The impeccable ride quality yielded a s

bottom of page