top of page
Taicho Cyclist V2 Logo Banner.png
  • Writer's pictureTaicho Cyclist

Lightweight Carbon Fibre Shimano SPD-SL Pedals?

This is the lightest carbon fibre SPD-SL pedals I have found, lighter than Shimano branded pedals. They cost approximately USD84 / GBP 75 / SGD 125 as the exchange rate fluctuates daily.


After taking some time to consider trying them out, I decided to part with some money to buy what appeared to be the lightest SPD-SL pedal set on AliExpress. They looked similar to the design of the Shimano pedals predominant in the last few years but does not show any brand logo or name upon closer look.


The construction appeared to be of 3K carbon fibre weave and I suspected that they are constructed by forged carbon process (unconfirmed). The forged carbon fibre can be learnt here: https://youtu.be/25PmqM24HEk There are various unbranded SPD-SL pedals you can find on Aliexpress on a budget but usually constructed of steel/alloy, weighing between 260ish grams to 300 grams. This full carbon fibre has raised the bar for the pursuit of weight-weenie success.


Although constructed by carbon fibre and appears solid, we have to ride it more to ascertain if it is durable in the long run. Meanwhile, the tension adjustments do work and I have solid cleat engagements during tests and first ride. Check out my video as I bring you my first-hand impressions from mounting them up the cranks to first ride impressions.



Aliexpress link: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005004100395605.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.0.0.21ef1802CNsGZQ


Support Taicho Cyclist @ Buy Me A Coffee: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/taichocyclist

You can now make a small donation which is entirely voluntary to support my channel when you buy me a coffee at the link below. Whether or not, I will still love you ️ Please support my effort when you like my video and subscribe to my channel for my future contents. Thank you. #taichocyclist #SPDSLpedals #weightweenie #bicycleparts #bicyclereview

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Updated TIME Alpe d'Huez 2023 in 2024

After a series of component changes since the original build by OneBikeAsia back in February 2024, here is an update video in a beautiful Singapore🇸🇬 morning. The impeccable ride quality yielded a s

bottom of page